Golden Darkness a.k.a Konjiki no Yami (Alpha Omega)


yami

Continuing the reviews, next we have this cute and moe looking “Golden Darkness a.k.a Konjiki no Yami” from To Love-Ru by Alpha Omega ^^

yami

This 1/8 scale figure standing at 20cm, was first released back in September 2008 and was probably the most popular figure of Yami at that time. One thing that makes the figure unique is no doubt the design and the diorama that comes with it. Not to mention that it’s by Alpha Omega. In case you are unfamiliar with the company name, it’s a joint project between Alter and MegaHouse ^^

You can see our cute Yami in action below:

Oh, and she’s also my favourite character in the series ^^

This figure is definitely a must get for Yami fans if you ever get the chance to get one, although it’s probably quite hard to obtain her at current time. Excellent sculpt and paint job, plus she also comes with her favourite Taiyaki ^^

yami

My favourite part of the figure is definitely the Diorama, featuring the Steam Pipe of the bath house and also Yami’s cute expression while eating. As for the base stand, it’s just a normal one with “To Love-Ru” mark on it.

yami

On with the shots~

(Right Click on Images, and choose “Open Image” for higher resolutions)

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

Close up~

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

The diorama~

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

yami

Lastly with a little bit of Photoshop effects~

yami

That ends my Yami review ^^

You can also view another good review of her over at Foo-Bar-Baz.

Look forward to the next one~ ( ^ _ ^ )

Tags:

14 Responses to “Golden Darkness a.k.a Konjiki no Yami (Alpha Omega)”

  1. Leonia Says:

    The best Yami figure. She is beautiful, and your picture are great ! Congratulation !

  2. Guy Says:

    You know, Yami is a rare character I loved for her design through figures, and don’t know at all from the source.

    I like leather straps, so sue me.

    I like this figure, I like her dynamic pose one less, but also quite a bit, and I like her upcoming standing pose with her legs slightly pointed inward the best.

    I usually prefer dynamic poses, but in this case, her just standing is lovely, and adorable. Even if she’s a galactic assassin 😀

  3. Aka Says:

    For sure this is the best Yami figure out there. I’ve got both this Yami and Good Smile Company’s Yami, and while the GSC Yami is a bit more dynamic, she doesn’t have the colour of Alpha x Omegas. Nor the fine detail. I particularly like how Yami’s legs are situated in this figure, quite cute.

    I do however like GSC Yami’s blade arm, that’s just badass.

    One negative comment someone pointed out to me about this Yami though, from some angles it looks like she’s on a toilet lol. And so what, even if she does look like that from some angles, she’s still cute.

    -Aka

    PS: If pantyshots are your thing, GSC’s Yami has them in spades. Trying to take a picture of her from nearly any angle there were panties in abundance.

    • Guy Says:

      Let’s wait till Cospa’s version comes out 🙂

      • Aka Says:

        I’m not a fan of Cospa in the slightest. I purchased their Horo and have hated it since receiving it.

        Some of that hate has surely skewed into my like (or dislike) of their Yami as well, but it’s not just that. I don’t like the proportions of Cospa’s Yami either. The tiny boots gives off this “Nightmare Before Christmas” feel for me and isn’t appealing. And her clothes look plain compared to the previous two iterations by Alpha x Omega and Good Smile Company.

        At least Cospa didn’t mangle Yami’s face too badly like they did Horos…

    • Guy Says:

      That’s the sad way in which figure-ordering goes:
      Either you miss out on the initial release and if it were good fork over too much money.
      Or you run the risk of getting stuck with a stinker.

  4. Blowfish Says:

    Shes awesome but what makes me really wanna own her is her diorama.Too bad I missed her many moons ago

  5. lovelyduckie Says:

    I like this Yami the best too! Although I don’t own any figures of her.

  6. Nega3 Says:

    Best Yami figure. In fact, best Alpha Omega figure.

    I was never really a big fan of AO.

  7. Jintoo Says:

    I’ve got this fig and it’s really one of my favs. As people said, it’s rare that’s why I had to pay a lot ’cause I missed it at the release date >_<
    In fact I haven't yet seen or read To LoveRu but the video sample you choose (the evolution of Yami's appearance) made me wanna watch 😛

  8. Persocom Says:

    Would love to have this figure in my collection some day, I settled for the GSC version though to go with my Lala. Great review!

  9. Reltair Says:

    The diorama is a very nice addition. I wish other figures/makers would follow suit and make more elaborate stands.

    Didn’t know Alpha Omega was a joint between Alter and MegaHouse, I’ll be watching out for their figures now as well. As for Yami, didn’t watch To Love-Ru, but she definitely looks great as would be expected from the involved makers. I actually like the position of her legs, since too many figures now have pantsu visible. =/

  10. wongtcsg Says:

    nice one!

Leave a comment